In most states, drivers are legally allowed to turn right at a red traffic light, however, some intersections will have obvious signage if this action is prohibited at a particular location. Regardless, those behind the wheel still have to come to a complete stop when the light turns red and also yield to pedestrians who may be crossing the street.

But what are the rules as far as turning left at a red light?

The laws for making a left turn at a red light vary on a state-by-state basis. It can also depend on the specific street where the traffic light is located.

According to laws in Colorado, drivers are permitted to make a left turn on red from a one-way street onto another one-way street. This is the only circumstance where a left turn on red can be made per the Colorado Driver's Handbook. In cities such as Denver, where many one-way streets exist, drivers must also stop at the white lines on the street prior to pulling out into the intersection.

The same safety precautions still apply when turning left at a red light as they do at a red light as far as yielding to other motorists or individuals who are using the crosswalk. Before turning left on red though, make sure there are no signs indicating that it is illegal to do so.

Motorists who are caught illegally running a red light in Colorado will typically be charged with a class A traffic infraction. Red light cameras have a maximum fine of $75 in Colorado. The maximum fine for running a red light in the Centennial State is $100 (plus a $10 surcharge). In certain cases, a red light violation could also lead to a reckless driving charge.

10 Tips For Drivers and Riders That Will Help Keep Colorado Motorcyclists Safe

May is Motorcycle Safety Awareness Month and reducing the number of deaths and injuries is the goal of this month's safety campaign. The responsibility of keeping motorcyclists safe is shared by riders and motorists. There are things that drivers and riders can do to help reduce the number of fatalities.

More From KUBC Gold